« PrejšnjaNaprej »
The income of an endowment fund of three hundred thousand dollars, the gift of the late Hon. Henry W. Sage, devoted to the purchase of books and periodicals, provides for a large and constant increase of the library, the average annual additions being now about twelve thousand volumes. The number of periodicals and transactions, historical, literary, scientific and technical, currently received, is over eight hundred, and of many of these complete sets are on the shelves. Among the more important special collections which from time to time have been incorporated in the General Library may be mentioned: THE ANTHON LIBRARY, of nearly seven thousand volumes, consisting of the collection made by the late Professor Charles Anthon, of Columbia College, in the ancient classical languages and literatures, besides works in history and general literature; THE BOPP LIBRARY, of about twenty-five hundred volumes, relating to the oriental languages and literatures, and comparative philology, being the collection of the late Professor Franz Bopp, of the University of Berlin; THE GOLDWIN SMITH LIBRARY, of thirty-five hundred volumes, comprising chiefly historical works and editions of the English and ancient classics, presented to the University in 1869 by Professor Goldwin Smith, and increased during later years by the continued liberality of the donor; THE PUBLICATIONS of the Patent Office of Great Britain, about three thousand volumes, of great importance to the student in technology and to scientific investigators; THe White ARCHITECTURAL LIBRARY, a collection of over twelve hundred volumes relating to architecture and kindred branches of science, given by ex-President White; THE KELLEY MATHEMATICAL LIBRARY, comprising eighteen hundred volumes and seven hundred tracts, presented by the late Hon. William Kelley, of Rhinebeck; THE CORNELL AGRICULTURAL LIBRARY, bought by the late Hon. Ezra Cornell, chiefly in 1868; THE SPARKS LIBRARY, being the library of Jared Sparks, late president of Harvard University, consisting of upwards of five thousand volumes and four thousand pamphlets, relating chiefly to the history of America; THE MAY COLLECTION, relating to the history of slavery, and anti-slavery, the necleus of which was formed by the gift of the library of the late Rev. Samuel J. May, of Syracuse; THE SCHUYLER COLLECTION of folk-lore, Russian history and literature, presented by the late Hon. Eugene Schuyler in 1884; THE RHÆTO-ROMANIC COLLECTION, containing about one thousand volumes, presented by Willard Fiske in 1891; THE PRESIDENT WHITE HISTORICAL LIBRARY, of about twenty thousand volumes (including bound collections of pamphlets) and some three thousand unbound pamphlets, the gift of ex-President White, received in 1892, especially
rich in the primary sources of history, and containing notable collections on the period of the Reformation, on the English and French Revolutions, on the American Civil War, and on the history of superstition; THE ZARNCKE LIBRARY, containing about thirteen thousand volumes and pamphlets, especially rich in Germanic philology and literature, including large collections on Lessing, Goethe, and Christian Reuter, purchased and presented in 1893 by William H. Sage; The Dante COLLECTION, containing at present over six thousand volumes, presented in 1893-8 by Willard Fiske; THE HERBERT H. SMITH COLLECTION of books relating to South America, purchased in 1896; a valuable collection of books on French and Italian society in the 16th and 17th centuries, presented by Professor T. F. Crane in 1896; THE FLOWER VETERINARY LIBRARY, the gift of ex-Governor Flower to Cornell University, for the use of the State Veterinary College, in 1897.
The library is primarily a reference library, but officers of the University have the privilege of taking books from the library for home use, and this privilege, with certain restrictions, is extended to graduate students, candidates for advanced degrees. Books may also be taken for home use by students after twelve o'clock on days preceding holidays, when the library is closed, to be returned at the reopening of the library. The library is open on week days, during term time, from 8 A.M. till II P.M., except on Saturdays, when it is closed at 5 P.M. In vacation it is open on week days from 9 A.M. till 5 P.M.
All students of the University have free access to the shelves of the Reference Library of eight thousand volumes in the main reading room, but apply at the delivery desk for other works they may desire. This reference Library comprises encyclopædias, dictionaries, and standard works in all departments of study, together with books designated by professors for collateral reading in the various courses of instruction. In the same room, and accessible to all readers, is the card catalogue of the general library, including also the books in the seminary libraries. The catalogue is one of authors and subjects, arranged under one alphabet on the dictionary plan. Cards of admission to the shelves in the stack-rooms, and to the White Historical Library, will be issued by the librarian to graduate students for purposes of consultation and research, and also to members of the senior or junior classes upon the recommendation of any professor under whom they may be engaged in advanced work.
Since its incorporation with the general library in 1891, the valuable historical collections of the PRESIDENT WHITE LIBRARY are displayed
in a spacious room, in the north wing of the Library Building, communicating directly with the historical seminary rooms. The White Library is open only to officers of the University, members of the seminaries, and others holding cards of admission. The SEMINARY ROOMS in the Library Building contain the seminary libraries proper, supplemented by collections of works and periodicals from the general library deposited in these rooms for use in Seminary work. Books so deposited in the seminary rooms are available for the use of students in the general reading room, except when in actual use in the seminaries. The books forming the seminary libraries proper are subject to such regulations as may be made for each seminary room by the professor in charge, to whom application for admission to the room must be made. In several of the scientific and technical departments similar collections of reference books have been formed, access to which may be obtained upon application to the department concerned.
The Law School Library occupies the third floor of Boardman Hall. It includes the famous library of the late N. C. Moak, which was presented to the school, in 1893, by Mrs. Douglas Boardman and Mrs. George R. Williams, as a memorial of Dean Boardman. This collection contains all the reports of every State in the Union, all the Federal reports, all the English reports, the colonial reports, complete sets of all the leading legal periodicals, all kept up to date. It is also rich in sets of leading cases and in specialties, and contains a large collection of text books, thus offering facilities second to none in the country.
The following course is offered for 1899-1900:
Introductory survey of the historical development of the book, illustrated by examples of manuscripts and incunabula : explanation of book sizes and notation; systems of classification and cataloguing; bibliographical aids in the use of the Library. Winter and spring
THE SAGE CHAPEL AND BARNES HALL.
The Sage Chapel.-The chapel is situated between Boardman and Barnes Halls. Its auditorium has a seating capacity of eight hundred persons. In the chapel discourses, provided for by the Dean Sage Preachership Endowment, are delivered by eminent clergymen selected, in the spirit of the charter, from the various religious denominations. By the terms of the charter of the University persons of any religious denomination or of no religious denomination are equally eligible to all offices and appointments; but it is expressly ordered that "at no time shall a majority of the Board of Trustees be of any one religious sect, or of no religious sect."
The Sage Chapel was given to the University in 1873 by the Hon. Henry W. Sage. In 1884 the University and the estate of Jennie McGraw-Fiske joined in erecting, upon the north of THE SAGE CHAPEL, THE MEMORIAL CHAPEL, as a memorial to Ezra Cornell, John McGraw, and Jennie McGraw-Fiske, whose remains there repose. In the summer of 1898 the University reconstructed THE SAGE CHAPEL and doubled the seating capacity, which was previously four hundred. In 1898 also, the University erected at the eastern extremity of THE SAGE CHAPEL a semi-octagonal apse, as a memorial to the original donor of the Chapel, the late Hon. Henry W. Sage, and as a repository of his remains and those of his wife, Susan Linn Sage, at whose suggestion the original gift was made.
The Chapel as reconstructed is still in the Gothic style of architectIt is built of red brick with elaborately carved stone trimmings. The elevations show two gables at the north side and two at the south, each gable containing a rose window of ten feet diameter, with stone tracery. A fifth similar (wheel) window is in the gable of the western half of the nave, which is all that remains of the original chapel. The window formerly in the east end of the nave has been placed in the east wall of the apse. In place of the tower, south transept, and eastern half of the nave of the original structure stand two parallel transepts covering a space 64 × 66 feet.
The Memorial Chapel, constructed in the Gothic style of the second or decorated period, has exterior walls of red brick with stone trimmings, and interior walls of Ohio stone and yellow brick. On entering the Chapel the eye is at once arrested by the rich memorial windows constructed by Clayton and Bell, of London. They are designed not only to commemorate the connection of Mr. Cornell, Mr. McGraw, and Mrs. Jennie McGraw-Fiske with this University, but
also to associate their names with the names of some of the greatest benefactors in the cause of education. The north window contains the figures of William of Wykeham, John Harvard, and Ezra Cornell; the east window the figures of Jeanne of Navarre, Margaret of Richmond, and Jennie McGraw-Fiske; the west window those of Elihu Vale, Sir Thomas Bodley, and John McGraw. Directly beneath the great northern window is a recumbent figure of Ezra Cornell, in white marble, of heroic size, by William W. Story of Rome; near this is another recumbent figure, that of Mrs. Andrew D. White, also in white marble, by Ezekiel, of Rome.
THE MEMORIAL APSE is a semi-octagonal structure 31 feet wide by 16 feet deep, which opens into the main building by a massive cut stone arch. The interior walls from the window-sills upward are of stone. The oaken ribs of the ceiling are carried on stone columns with carved capitals, supported by corbels.
Barnes Hall. The University is indebted to the generosity of the late Alfred S. Barnes, Esq., of New York, for a commodious and elegant building designed mainly for the use of the University Christian Association. This building is one hundred and twenty feet by eighty feet in dimensions, and three stories in height. The material is brick, with trimmings of Ohio stone, brown stone, and granite. On the north, the main entrance is marked by a graceful tower rising to a height of one hundred feet. The building contains a secretary's room, assembly-room, library, reading-room, and all other needed accommodations for the work of the Association, in addition to a spacious auditorium, which occupies the larger part of the second floor. Besides the auditorium, there is a smaller class-room on this floor, the two being separated by a screen which in case of need is easily removed, thus throwing the entire second floor into one hall, and furnishing seating room for one thousand persons. The rooms are open daily from 8 A.M. to 8 P.M. to all students.
The Christian Association is a voluntary organization of about five hundred students and professors for the promotion of their religious culture, and for Christian work in the University. It has a permanent Secretary, a carefully selected library of biblical literature, and a wellequipped reading room of religious and secular journals. Courses of Bible study are carried on by the Association throughout the year. A committee of this Association is in attendance at Barnes Hall during the first week of every fall term for the purpose of assisting those entering the University with information in regard to rooms, board, times and places of examinations, etc., and in general to afford any assistance in their power which students who are strangers in Ithaca may feel inclined to seek from them.