John Jakes: A Critical Companion

Sprednja platnica
Greenwood Publishing Group, 1996 - 225 strani

John Jakes, often called the people's author and godfather of the historical novel, has made American history come to life in his series The Kent Family Chronicles and The North and South Trilogy. Through these novels, Jakes conveys the sweep of American history, both its glory and its grim scenes, from the American Revolution to the opening moments of the 20th century. Never glossing over the nation's flaws (slavery, materialism, a double-edged Manifest Destiny), Jakes nevertheless affirms American values. This is the first full-length critical study of his work. It examines in detail Jakes' 13 major novels to date and assesses his methods as America's history teacher.

In Part I, following a chapter on Jakes' life, Jones examines the early novels and Jakes' use of the genres of historical fiction, the western, and the historical family sage. Part II, The Kent Family Chronicles, devotes an individual chapter to each of the novels in this series, The Bastard, The Rebels, The Seekers, The Furies, The Titans, The Warriors,

The Lawless, and The Americans. Part III, New Beginnings, features chapters on North and South, Love and War, and Heaven and Hell, and chapters on California Gold and Homeland. The examination of each novel in this study includes sections on plot development, character development, and thematic issues. Jones also offers an alternative critical perspective from which to read each novel--such as feminist literary criticism, New Historicism, Marxist criticism, and Deconstructionism--that gives the reader an alternative viewpoint from which to consider the novel. A complete bibliography of all of John Jakes' work, works about John Jakes, and a listing of reviews of all the novels examined in the book concludes the study.


Mnenja - Napišite recenzijo

Na običajnih mestih nismo našli nobenih recenzij.


The Peoples Author The Life of John Jakes
From Apprentice to Master Craftsman The Many Genres of John Jakes
The Bastard 1974
The Rebels 1975
The Seekers 1975 and The Furies 1976
The Titans 1976
The Warriors 1977
The Lawless 1978
The Americans 1980
North and South 1982 Love and War 1984 and Heaven and Hell 1987
California Gold 1989
Homeland 1993
Avtorske pravice

Druge izdaje - Prikaži vse

Pogosti izrazi in povedi

O avtorju (1996)

MARY ELLEN JONES is Director of American Studies and Associate Professor of English at Wittenberg University in Springfield, Ohio. She is author of The American Frontier (1994), Seeds of Change: Readings on Cultural Exchange after 1492 (1993), and Christopher Columbus and His Legacy (1992).

Bibliografski podatki