"A Better Country": The Worlds of Religious Fantasy and Science Fiction

Sprednja platnica
Greenwood Press, 1988 - 168 strani
This book is a study of religious science fiction and fantasy in the tradition of Lewis and Tolkien. Sammons explores why writers use fantasy to convey theology. In addition, the book provides a theoretical understanding of fantasy as a form of literature by examining the techniques of current writers in light of the goals and theories of the "founders" of the genre. Sammons discusses techniques such as supposition, transposition, imagery, and reader participation, along with the themes and ideas they convey. The author traces the chronological development of the genre and the characteristics and effects of religious fantasy with a wealth of examples.

Iz vsebine knjige

Mnenja - Napišite recenzijo

Na običajnih mestih nismo našli nobenih recenzij.

Vsebina

Introduction
1
The Fairyland of the Soul Heroes
39
Walking the Tightrope Qualities
61
Avtorske pravice

4 preostalih delov ni prikazanih

Pogosti izrazi in povedi

Bibliografski podatki