« PrejšnjaNaprej »
Bangor, on account of its rapid growth, die,” on leaving the pulpit he dropped as well as its important position, and the down dead. Five years afterward the beauty of its situation, is the place of building was destroyed by fire; and, the greatest note in the interior of the in 1831, a handsome brick edifice was
The Kenduskeag enters the Pe- erected in its place. nobscot nearly at right-angles, dividing In 1828, three houses for public worthe town into two parts, and diversify- ship were commenced, by societies of ing the surface in the environs with high methodists, baptists, and unitarians, and and picturesque banks. The town ap- several others were erected a few
years pears to great advantage on approach- later; and, in 1832, a large courthouse, ing it from down the valley of the Pe- with county offices, and a jail. nobscot, as it is gradually disclosed to The Theological Seminary has three view, displaying its numerous clusters professors, about fifty students, and a liof houses spread up the rising grounds brary of seven thousand volumes. The and over the more level surface on the classical and theological course occupies summit of the bank. On the northwest four years. It was instituted, in 1815, side of the town the eminence commands to prepare young men to preach the an extensive and charming view, Mount gospel. A tract of five acres of land Katahdin appearing in the distance, in was given to the institution by Isaac clear weather, though more than seventy Davenport, of Milton, Massachusetts, on miles off, its head often capped with which the present fine building stands.
It is of brick, four stories high, and enJudge Williamson's History of Maine joys an elevated and commanding situainforms us, that the first settlement was tion. A second edifice, of a similar demade in this place in the year 1769, scription, with houses for the professors, when only one family became the inhab- was afterward planned. The instituitants. A second followed in the course tion is under the direction of a board of of 1770; and two years later there were trustees, and has a fund of about a huntwelve families. In 1787, the first pub- dred and twenty thousand dollars. lic meeting was held, to procure a pas- The Bangor House is one of the ornator and a place for public worship; when ments of the town. It is constructed on the Rev. Seth Noble, a whig refugee a plan resembling that of the Tremont from Nova Scotia, was appointed, and house in Boston, and was built in 1836. received his ordination under the shade There is a bridge across the Penobof an oak-tree. He received a salary scot, and three across the Kenduskeag. of four hundred dollars from the people Two of the latter were built by individresiding on both sides of the river, and uals. remained there twelve years. He was The first printing-office was opened appointed, in 1791, to procure an act of in Bangor in the year 1815, by Peter incorporation from the Massachusetts Edes. The first bank was established legislature; and, although the people in 1818; and banks have since been mulproposed to call the place Sunbury, the tiplied to supply the demands of the expresent name was chosen.
tensive lumber-business and navigation The courthouse (now the city-hall) carried on here. The ice interrupts the was the first public building erected in river-trade during four or five months in the place, in 1812. It was occupied for the year; but the river is generally open public worship, as well as for various to Frankfort, twelve miles below. other public purposes, until 1822. That
The first railroad in the state was that year the first meetinghouse was built, from Bangor to Oldtown, in Oxford counby the only religious society existing ty, twelve miles of which was opened in there. The Rev. Harvey Loomis, who 1836, at an expense of $250,000. was ordained in 1811, officiated in it un- The market-house is large, and well til 1822, when, having preached a new-planned. A rural cemetery, on the plan year's sermon, on the 2d of January, of that of Mount Auburn, near Boston, from the text, “ This year thou shalt was laid out in 1836, two miles from the