« PrejšnjaNaprej »
SAN FRANCISCO INSTITUTE OF ART
BOARD OF DIRECTORS VANDERLYNN Stow, President
JAMES D. PHELAN JOSIAH R. HOWELL, First Vice-President WARREN D. CLARK LORENZO P. LATIMER, Second Vice-President THOMAS M. PENNELL HENRY HEYMAN, Secretary.
CHARLES TEMPLETON CROCKER JOHN I. WALTER, Treasurer.
HARRY W. SEAWELL
JOSEPH D. REDDING ROBERT H. FLETCHER, Director
San Francisco Institute of Art, San Francisco J. R. MARTIN, Assistant Secretary
San Francisco Institute of Art, San Francisco
FACULTY BENJ. IDE WHEELER, Ph.D., LL.D., Litt.D., President of the University. John Aloysius STANTON, Professor of Drawing and Painting, Dean. MELVIN Earl CUMMINGS, Professor of Modeling. Louis PHILLIPE Howe, Professor of Anatomy. FRANK VAN SLOUN, Assistant Professor of Drawing and Painting. ROBERT HOWE FLETCHER, Assistant Professor of History of Art and Per
spective, Director of the Institute. *CHARLES CHAPEL JUDSON, Assistant Professor of Drawing. *ALICE BROWN CHITTENDEN, Assistant Professor of Drawing. PEDRO JOSEPH LEMOS, Professor of Decorative Design. HELENA ALLEN, Instructor of Drawing. HENRY WASHINGTON SEAWELL, Assistant Professor of Drawing.
The property known as the San Francisco Institute of Art is situated at the corner of California and Mason streets, San Francisco. Originally certain buildings occupied this half block which extends from California street to Pine street, the whole having been given by Mr. Edward F. Searles to the Regents of the University of California in February, 1893, for the purposes of instruction in and illustration of the fine arts, under
* Absent on leave, 1914–15.
the memorial title of the Mark Hopkins Institute of Art. At the same time the San Francisco Art Association became affiliated with the University of California pursuant to Sections 1391 and 1396 of the Political Code of California, and under the terms of a trust agreement between Mr. Searles, the Regents of the University, and the Art Association, the Art Association entered upon the occupancy and use of the property for the purposes named. In 1906 the memorial buildings of the Mark Hopkins Institute were destroyed in the general fire of that year, and the land reverted to Mr. Searles who, in January, 1907, re-deeded it to the Board of Regents for the purpose of an institute of art under the management of the San Francisco Art Association and with the title of the San Francisco Institute of Art. A building of a temporary nature, but well adapted to its uses, was erected upon the lot and in this the paintings and other works of art belonging to the Art Association are exhibited and instruction in the fine arts is conducted. In addition to the permanent collections of paintings and sculpture contained in the Institute special exhibitions are held at intervals during the year.
Visitors are admitted without payment on Tuesday and Saturday; on other days a fee of twenty-five cents is charged all except members of the Association and students of the colleges at Berkeley, the latter being allowed the privileges of the galleries on presentation of an admission card issued by the Recorder of the Faculties.
The California School of Design, founded in 1874 by the Art Association and conducted as a part of the Mark Hopkins Institute is being maintained and extended in connection with the San Francisco Institute of Art. Its course embraces tuition in drawing, painting, modeling, and decorative design in all their branches. It holds an exhibition of the work of the pupils at the end of the school year.
A normal course is provided for those students who wish to become teachers of art. It includes the regular course together with certain special studies elsewhere enumerated.
The University Certificate of Proficiency is given to students who pass the required examinations in painting, drawing, modeling, composition, perspective and anatomy.
The Normal Certificate is granted to students who successfully pursue the prescribed studies and pass the final examinations. The embraces painting, drawing, modeling, composition, perspective, anatomy, decorative art, applied design, history of art, and instruction in teaching.
Examinations are held at the end of the school year and only regular students who have attended the school at least one year are eligible.
PRIVILEGES The Art Gallery of the Institute is open to the pupils of the school during the term.
The Library and Reading Room containing the current magazines and art periodicals are also at the service of the pupils.
PRIZES AND SCHOLARSHIPS
The Art Association awards six annual scholarships to the most deserving pupils of the school.
Arrangements have been made whereby a collection of the best drawings and paintings done in the school are selected by the faculty once a year and forwarded to Paris for consideration by a jury of the Julian Academy. The author of the work adjudged best receives a silver medal, known as the Julian Academy Medal, and a year's free tuition in certain of the ateliers of the Academy.
COURSES OF STUDY
The following are the courses of study, no preliminary qualifications being required for entrance to the school,
PREPARATORY Drawing and Modeling-Drawing from casts, and from still life; sketch
ing from the costumed model; modeling from casts.
ADVANCED Perspective-A course of lectures on perspective, with instruction in its
practical application. Anatomy- A course of lectures demonstrated by models, charts, etc., with
text-books. Composition-A course in design suited to each special branch. Portrait-For drawing, painting and modeling from the head and the
figure in costume. Life (separate classes for men and women)-For drawing, painting and
modeling from the figure.