« PrejšnjaNaprej »
H. C. MOFFITT, M.D., Physician-in-Chief.
W. I. TERRY, M.D., Surgeon-in-Chief.
J. MORRIS SLEMONS, M.D., Obstetrician and Gynecologist-in-Chief. WILLIAM PALMER LUCAS, M.D., Pediatrician-in-Chief and Director of the Out-Patient Department.
L. H. BRIGGS, M.D. Chief of Clinic.
ELDRIDGE J. BEST, M.D.
LOVELL LANGSTROTH, M.D.
MILTON ABRAHAMSON, M.D.
HANS LISSER, M.D.
M. B. LENNON, M.D., Chief of Clinic.
C. L. TRANTER, M.D.
EVA C. REID, M.D., Chief of Clinic.
H. MORROW, M.D., Chief of Clinic.
L. S. SCHMITT, M.D.
A. W. LEE, M.D.
F. S. ZUMWALT, M.D.
EDWARD TAUSSIG, M.D., Physician in charge of Tuberculosis Clinic.
L. S. SCHMITT, M.D., Serologist.
A. K. DAVENPORT, M.D., Radiographer.
Miss HELEN BRUCKMAN, Technician.
Miss ELOISE NORWOOD SCOVILLE, R.N., Head Nurse in charge of Patient
Mrs. EMILY REED, in charge of Records.
Miss HAZEL WILLIAMS, Assistant in charge of Records.
SAN FRANCISCO HOSPITAL MEDICAL STAFF
W. W. KERR, M.D.
HAROLD BRUNN, M.D.
W. P. LUCAS, M.D.
HOWARD MORROW, M.D.
J. V. COOKE, M.D.
J. V. LEONARD, M.D.
F. C. LEWITT, M.D.
G. E. EBRIGHT, M.D.
J. B. FRANKENHEIMER, M.D.
L. P. HOWE, M.D.
H. C. NAFFZiger, M.D.
FRANK TOPHAM, M.D.
F. S. ZUMWALT, M.D.
E. H. CORNELL, M.D..
J. H. CATTON, M.D.
R. L. CUNNINGHAM, M.D.
G. W. PIERCE, M.D.
HENRY EHLERS, M.D.
Assistant in charge of Clinical Laboratory
Voluntary Assistant in Medicine
HISTORY AND DEVELOPMENT OF THE SCHOOL
In 1862, Dr. H. H. Toland erected a building to serve as the nucleus of a medical school. This was subsequently known as Toland Hall and in 1872 was formally transferred to the Regents of the University of California as a department of the University. For many years the affiliation was merely nominal and the medical faculty was in entire control of the policy of the school, the support of the institution being derived from fees of the students.
In 1895, the course of instruction was extended from three to four years. In 1898, the school was moved to its present location on Parnassus Heights, a tract of land of thirteen and one-half acres donated to the University by the late Adolph Sutro. Funds were provided by the Legislature to erect buildings for law, medicine, dentistry and pharmacy, and at a later date the law building was transferred by the Board of Regents to the Medical School.
In 1902, the Board of Regents adopted a resolution of vital importance to the Medical School. Instead of preserving the former loose affiliation it was determined to regard the medical department as an integral part of the University. The properties of the school were transferred to the University, the students' fees were turned into the general University fund and support of the school was assumed by the Regents. The first two years of medicine were at once put upon an academic basis and suitable laboratories equipped.
With the destruction of the Out-Patient Department by the earthquake and fire of 1906, it became necessary to transfer the work of the first two years to Berkeley and to transform the main building of the school into a hospital and out-patient clinic. The separation of the scientific and clinical years proved, as was expected, a serious mistake, and in December, 1911, the Regents of the University announced their intention of bringing together the various departments of the school, of providing a proper modern teaching hospital and of placing the clinical years upon an academic basis. Therefore, on April 9, 1912, it was resolved to consolidate all departments of the school in San Francisco as soon as feasible. A recommendation of the President of the University was adopted which provided a plan of reorganization for the clinical years.
Clinical instruction is now divided into four main departments, Medicine, Surgery, Diseases of Women and Pediatrics. The departments of Obstetrics and Gynecology and rediatrics are in charge of full time teachers, and as soon as possible the departments of Medicine and Surgery will be placed on the same basis.
THE GEORGE WILLIAMS HOOPER FOUNDATION FOR
In memory of her husband, George Williams Hooper, a pioneer citizen of San Francisco, Mrs. Hooper, on Commencement Day, May 14, 1913, transferred to the Regents of the University certain valuable property to serve as a foundation for an institute of medical research. The income at present provided is $50,000 a year, but at the end of four years $100,000 per annum will be available.
The formal opening of the Institute was celebrated on March 7, 1914. Addresses were delivered by Dr. Henry S. Pritchett, President of the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching, Dr. Richard M. Pearce, Professor of Research Medicine, University of Pennsylvania, and Honorable Curtis H. Lindley. The policy and work of the Institute is determined by an advisory board of seven members conferring with the Regents of the University.
The building formerly occupied by the Veterinary School has been devoted by the Regents of the University to the work of the Institute. Dr. George H. Whipple, formerly Associate Professor of Pathology in Johns Hopkins University, is Director, and is also Professor of Research Medicine in the Medical School. The work of the Hooper Institute, therefore, will be closely correlated with that of the Medical School. Men at work in research in the Institute will have free access to the University Hospital wards and positions in the Institute will be available for men in the Medical School, who desire to enter a career in Research Medicine. The work of the Hooper Institute in no way interferes with research in each department of the Medical School. As evidence of their realization of the importance of pure research in the Medical School the Regents of the University have this year established a research position in the Department of Pathology.