Slike strani



The General Library, kept in the Bacon Art and Library Building now contains over 200,000 volumes. It is constantly augmented by donations and exchange, and by large purchases of books with the income from the Michael Reese, James K. Moffitt, Jane K. Sather, Claus Spreckels, Mrs. William H. Crocker, E. A. Denicke, and other funds.

The Bancroft Library, covering the whole field of West American history and archaeology, has been acquired by purchase and installed in California Hall.

The Karl Weinhold library of books on Germanic philology and folk-lore, six thousand volumes, two thousand pamphlets—a very rich collection—will be placed at the disposition of students as soon as catalogued.

The resources of the Library are supplemented by borrowings from other libraries; and, similarly, the Library lends its books, under proper regulation, to other institutions. By a recently constructed addition to the building, six seminary rooms have been provided. The new Library building provided by the bequest of the late Charles F. Doe is expected to be ready for occupancy in August of 1910.

The various departments of instruction have separate collections of books, useful for ready reference and class-room work.

The Library and Reading Room of the Department of Agriculture, situated in Agricultural Hall, receives the publications of the experiment stations of the United States and other countries, as well as pamphlets on agricultural subjects published by various governments and commissions. About one hundred and forty dailies, weeklies, and monthlies are regularly received.


The Psychological Laboratory is well equipped for instruction and for research. The entire second and third floors and part of the basement of the Philosophy Building are set apart for this use.

The Physical Laboratory occupies the entire basement foors of South Hall and East Hall, and thus secures favorable conditions as regards stability and evenness of temperature. There are set apart rooms for elementary and for advanced work, for photometry, and for spectroscopic research. The apparatus includes many instruments and standards for fundamental measurements from makers of the best reputation, and the laboratory employs a competent mechanician, who is continually increasing the equipment from original designs.

The Students' Observatory (Berkeley Astronomical Department). The equipment of the observatory consists of the following instruments: An eight-inch reflector; a six-inch refractor; a fiveinch refractor; two six-inch portrait lenses with a three-inch guiding telescope, all equatorially mounted with driving clocks; a threeinch Davidson combination transit-and-zenith telescope; a two-inch altazimuth instrument; a spectroscope; a Repsold measuring engine for measuring astronomical photographs; a Gaertner microscope for measuring spectrograms; an electro-chronograph; a Harkness spherometer; a level-trier; sextants; chronometers; a Howard M. T. clock; all the necessary electric connections for recording time and determining longitude by the telegraphic method; and a set of meteorological instruments.

The Chemical Laboratories. In this building there are, besides the usual equipment for the prosecution of elementary courses by large classes of students, special rooms for volumetric analysis, gas analysis, spectrum analysis, and electrolysis. Facilities are provided for chemical analysis and for investigations in foods, drinking waters, mineral waters, poisons, etc. A chemical museum, with a large collection of chemical products and apparatus, is open daily for inspection and study.

The Mineralogical and Petrographical Laboratories are provided with a large collection of minerals and rocks and are equipped with the necessary apparatus for research work in crystallography and petrography.

The Museum of Geology and Mineralogy comprises an extensive suite of minerals and ores illustrating the chief phenomena of crystals, and of economic deposits.

besides, many crystallographic models, and relief maps geologically colored. There is a similarly extensive suite of petrological specimens affording an almost complete illustration of the subject of petrology; and many specimens illustrative of the more interesting features of structural geology.

The Rudolph Spreckels Physiological Laboratory. There are laboratory facilities for about fifty students in the east wing of the building. The central part and west wing of the building are reserved for research. The department library contains complete

There are,

sets of all the important physiological journals, and the more important monographs on physiological and related subjects.

The Civil Engineering Laboratories. The Civil Engineering laboratories for the testing of materials have been established and fitted with apparatus of the best make, particularly designed for experimental tests and original investigation. They contain tension, compression, torsion and impact machines for testing the strength and elastic properties of metals, timbers, stone, concrete and other structural materials.

The timbers, building stones, cements and bitumens of the Pacific Coast have received special attention in these laboratories. Practical questions connected with water for domestic use, tests of macadam rock and other road materials and examinations of sanitary mechanisms are considered.

These laboratories have their own machine rooms for preparing specimens and making apparatus needed for special tests. Besides the large testing machine, they are provided with extensometers and other measuring instruments, with smaller machines for cement testing, apparatus for testing wire, cable and reinforced concrete beams and columns.

The department is at present preparing plans for sanitary laboratories which it is hoped will soon be open to students desiring advanced study in sanitation, especially for those problems arising in connection with sewage and water supply purification.

The Testing Laboratories of the Civil Engineering department for some years past have been coöperating with the Forest Service of the U. S. Department of Agriculture. The Timber Testing Station of that Service has its headquarters for District No. 5 at the University of California.

The Laboratories of Agricultural Chemistry, Fertilizer Control, Viticulture, Agricultural Technology, and Cereal Investigations are located in the Agricultural Experiment Station Building, that of Plant Pathology in the Botany Building, and that of Bacteriology in an adjoining structure.

The Entomological Laboratories are located in a separate building


This gymnasium, presented to the University by the late A. K. P. Harmon, is well equipped, and provides all male students with opportunities for physical culture. Besides the main hall and


athletic quarters, there are one hundred and sixty-seven showerbaths, and two thousand steel lockers for the use of the students.

The exercises in the gymnasium are conducted systematically under the supervision of the Professor of Physical Culture.

HEARST HALL. Hearst Hall was presented to the University by Mrs. Phoebe A. Hearst for a Women's Gymnasium. It contains the best of modern equipment, with special facilities to correct physical defects. Connected with the gymnasium are eighty-nine shower baths, supplied with hot and cold water, one hundred and seventy-eight dressing rooms, and nine hundred lockers for the exclusive use of women students. The lower hall is used as a general gathering place for the women of the University.

Connected with the gymnasium is a large enclosed court 150 feet long and 80 feet wide, with a seating capacity of one thousand, also the gift of Mrs. Hearst. It is used as an outdoor gymnasium, as well as for basket-ball and other games suitable for women.

[graphic][merged small]


BENJAMIN IDE WHEELER, Ph.D., LL.D., President of the University. CHARLES HENRY RIEBER, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Logic; Dean

of the Summer Session. JAMES SUTTON, Ph.B., Recorder of the Faculties.

RAYMOND BARRINGTON ABBOTT, B.S., Assistant in Physics.

B.S., University of California, 1908. EPHRAIM DOUGLASS ADAMS, Ph.D., Professor of History, Leland Stanford Junior University.

A.B., University of Michigan, 1887; Ph.D., 1890; Principal of High School, McGregor, Iowa, 1887; Principal of High School, Saginaw, Michigan, 1889; Special agent in charge of street railways, Elev. enth Census, Washington, D. C., 1890; Assistant Professor and after. wards Professor of European History, University of Kansas, 1891-1902; Associate Professor and afterwards Professor of History, Leland Stan.

ford Junior University, 1902.. GEORGE PLIMPTON ADAMS, M.A., Assistant Professor of Philosophy.

A.B., Harvard University, 1903; M.A., 1907; Instructor in Philosophy, Lewis Institute, 1904-06; Assistant in Philosophy, Harvard University, 1906-07; Assistant Professor of Philosophy and Dean of Academic Students, Lewis Institute, 1907-08; Instructor in Philosophy, University of California, 1908-09; Assistant Professor of Philosophy,

1909.. BEVERLY SPRAGUE ALLEN, M.A., Assistant in English in the Summer Session.

A.B., University of California, 1903; M.A., 1905; Instructor in Preparatory Classics, University of Idaho, 1905-06; Instructor in Eng

lish, 1906-07; Assistant in English, University of California, 1907-08. *ARTHUR CARL ALVAREZ, B.S., Instructor in Civil Engineering.

B.S., University of California, 1908; Instructor in Civil Engineers

ing, University of California, 1908., ERNEST BROWN BABCOCK, B.S, Assistant Professor of Agricultural Education,

B.S., University of California, 1905; Principal of Glendale Grammar School, 1898-1901; Instructor in Agricultural Nature-study, Los An. geles State Normal School, 1906-07; Instructor in Plant Pathology, University of California, 1907-08; Assistant Professor, 1908-09; Assistant Professor of Agricultural Education, 1909..

* In the Summer School of Surveying, Camp California, Santa (ruz, California.

« PrejšnjaNaprej »