« PrejšnjaNaprej »
$72,000 for the erection of Green Hall, a dormitory for women, as a memorial of her parents.
In January, 1900, Mrs. N. S. Foster made a new contribution of $20,000, for the enlargement of Nancy Foster Hall.
In June, 1892, Mr. Martin A. Ryerson was made president of the Board of Trustees and has continued in that position ever since.
In December, 1892, Mr. Rockefeller made a fourth subscription of "one thousand thousand-dollar 5 per cent bonds," as an additional endowment.
Up to this time very little provision had been made for the general equipment of the University. The need of a large fund for this purpose becoming imperative, Martin A. Ryerson, in February, 1893, announced to the Board that he would give $100,000 toward such a fund, on condition that $400,000 more were raised. This was done during the ensuing fourteen months. The Ryerson Physical Laboratory was erected in 1893-4.
The Haskell Oriental Museum was erected in 1895-6, Mrs. Caroline E. Haskell having given $100,000 for that purpose.
The Astronomical Observatory of the University was built in 1896–97 at Lake Geneva, Wis., and is called the Yerkes Observatory after the donor of the funds.
Charles Hitchcock Hall was erected in 1901-2, Mrs. Hitchcock having given $200,000 for this and other purposes.
The University was enabled to erect the Tower Group through the liberality of Charles L. Hutchinson, Treasurer of the University from its inception, John J. Mitchell, Leon Mandel, John D. Rockefeller, Harold F. McCormick, and through the interest of the executors of the Joseph Reynolds estate. The buildings composing it were erected in 1902–3.
The Frank Dickinson Bartlett Gymnasium was built at the same time, it being made possible through large gifts from Mr. A. C. Bartlett.
In the spring of 1902 the Board of Trustees determined on the organization of a Law School, and the work of instruction began in October, 1902, the Law Building being erected in 1903-4.
On January 10, 1906, the University suffered an incalculable loss in the death of President William Rainey Harper, who had served through fourteen and a half years. On the death of President Harper, Harry Pratt Judson was appointed Acting President of the University, and on February 20, 1907, he was elected President.
Following President Harper's death a fund of nearly $900,000 was contributed by twenty-two hundred subscribers for the building of the William Rainey Harper Memorial Library. Ground was broken for the Library January 10, 1910, four years from the date of President Harper's death. The building was dedicated at the June Convocation, 1912.
In 1912–13 Martin A. Ryerson built an addition to the Ryerson Physical Laboratory at a cost of $200,000.
At the Convocations held on August 30, 1912, and on June 10, 1913, President Judson announced gifts aggregating $550,000 by Mr. Julius Rosenwald and Mr. LaVerne Noyes, to be used for the erection of new buildings, the contribution of the latter, $300,000, for a social center and gymnasium for women.
By the bequest of Mrs. Elizabeth G. Kelly provision has been made for the erection of a Classics building, to cost about $260,000.
On February 27, 1914, ground was broken for the Classics Building, and on March 16, 1914, for the Julius Rosenwald Hall, a building to be used by the departments of Geology and Geography. Work was also begun during 1914 on the Ida Noyes Hall.
During the year 1913, the grandstands and the fence around the Athletic Field were completed at a cost of more than $200,000. These facilities greatly strengthened the Department of Physical Culture and Athletics, which, under the supervision of Professor A. A. Stagg, has had an important and honorable part in the history of the University. During 1914 the interior portion of the grandstands was finished, providing racquets and handball courts and ample accommodations for the contestants in athletics. Toward the completion of the grandstands contributions were made by Mr. Harold F. McCormick and Mr. F. H. Rawson.
December 14, 1895, Miss Helen Culver, of Chicago, presented to the University property valued at $1,000,000, “the whole gift to be devoted to the increase and spread of knowledge within the field of the biological sciences.”
At the Convocation held March 19, 1901, the President announced that the Chicago Institute, founded by Mrs. Emmons Blaine, was to become a School of the University, to be known as the University of Chicago School of Education; that the South Side Academy was to become one of the secondary schools of the University, and that this school and the Chicago Manual Training School would be connected with the University School of Education, the two combined preparatory schools to be named the University High School. The buildings of this School occupy the block fronting south on the Midway Plaisance between Kimbark and Kenwood avenues.
By the assistance of Mrs. Blaine University College was established in 1898 for the benefit of teachers and others unable to attend the University. Instruction has been given in the central part of the city. The enrolment for 1913–14 was 1,106.
With the beginning of the academic year 1901–2 the University instituted instruction in the first two years of a Medical Course. A Medical Faculty was appointed, and the Freshman and Sophomore classes of Rush Medical College were transferred to the University.
As is well known, Mr. John D. Rockefeller has been the principal contributor to the funds of the University. About $8,000,000 have been contributed by others. Up to January 1, 1906, Mr. Rockefeller had given to the University about $15,000,000. Since that date, during the administration of President Judson, his contributions have aggregated nearly $20,000,000, or a total of almost $35,000,000. This total includes what Mr. Rockefeller designated his "final" gift, namely $10,000,000, made December 13, 1910, now being paid in ten equal annual instalments, beginning January 1, 1911. The sum of at least $1,500,000 of this final gift is “to be used for the erection and furnishing of a University Chapel," the remainder, as far as practicable, for endowment. The purpose of Mr. Rockefeller, in making this great gift, was to establish, on permanent foundations, the University as now organized. In his letter of gift he wrote: “The founding and support of new departments, or the development of the varied and alluring fields of applied science, including medicine, I leave to the wisdom of the trustees, as funds may be furnished for these purposes by other friends of the University.”
President Harry Pratt Judson, in his address at the service on October 8, 1913, commemorating the opening of the University twenty-one years ago, made the following striking comparisons: “The faculty at that time numbered about one hundred; at present it numbers about four hundred. Since that date the number of students who have matriculated, thus having had courses at some time in the University, is 49,941. The total number of students enrolled during the year opening the first of October, 1892, was 742. The number enrolled during the year closing June 30, 1913, was 6,802. The number of those who have received degrees from the University since its opening is 7,050. The grounds belonging to the University in 1892 comprised about twenty-five acres. The present campus, including the Midway frontage on both sides, from Cottage Grove Avenue to Dorchester Avenue, is nearly one hundred acres. The buildings in use on the grounds twenty-one years ago included Cobb Hall and the three dormitories adjoining that building on the south. The University has now about forty buildings. The total of gifts paid in at the opening amounted to $925,813.08. The total of gifts paid in at this time amounts to $35,086,836.45. In addition to that sums pledged and payable within a short time in the future amount to $7,495,000..... The most vital assets of the University, however, are not found in millions of endowment, in great buildings, or in extensive acreage of land, but consist rather in the students, the alumni, the men and women who are doing university work. Character and intellectual attainments cannot be purchased by money, and are the finest fruitage of all the work which the University has done or will do."
The annual enrolment of students has been as follows:
1892-3. 1893-4. 1894-5. 1895-6. 1896-7 1897-8. 1898–9. 1899–1900. 1900-1. 1901-2 1902-3.
742 920 1,347 1,815 1,880 2,307 2,959 3,183 3,520 4,450 4,463
1903–4. 1904-5 1905-6. 1906-7. 1907-8. 1908-9. 1909–10. 1910–11. 1911-12 1912-13 1913-14,
4,580 4,598 5,079 5,070 5,109 5,659 6,007 6,355 6,506 6,802 7,301
THE STATUTES OF THE UNIVERSITY
(Enacted by the Board of Trustees) 1. The University includes four Divisions: the Schools and Colleges; the University Extension; the University Libraries, Laboratories, and Museums; the University Press.
2. The Schools and Colleges include:
a) The Divinity School, the Graduate School of Arts and Literature, the Ogden (Graduate) School of Science, the School of Education, the Law School, already organized; the School of Medicine, partly organized; the School of Technology, the School of Fine Arts, and the School of Music, to be established.
b) The College of Arts, the College of Literature, the College of Philosophy, the College of Science, the College of Education, the College of Commerce and Administration, and University College. Each of these colleges (with respect to its work) is divided into a Junior College and a Senior College. The former includes the first half of the curriculum, ordinarily known as the work of the Freshman and Sophomore classes, and the latter the second half, ordinarily known as the work of the Junior and Senior classes.
3. The University Extension includes the Correspondence-Study Department and the Library and Reading Department. It is the function of the Division to direct work done by students who are unable to attend exercises held at the University.
4. The University Libraries, Laboratories, and Museums include the General Library and all departmental libraries, the General Museum and all special museums, and the Laboratories of the University.
5. The University Press includes the Manufacturing Department, the Publication Department, the Retail Department, and the Mailing and Shipping Department.
6. The President of the University is the executive head of the University in all its departments, exercising such supervision and direction as will promote the efficiency of every department; he is responsible for the discipline of the University; he presides at the meetings of all Ruling Bodies of the University, and is the official medium of communication between the Facul. ties and the Board of Trustees, and between the students of the University and the Board of Trustees; he recommends to the Board of Trustees appointments to the several Faculties; he is responsible for carrying out all measures officially agreed upon by the Faculties in regard to matters committed to them by the Board, and such measures concerning the internal administration of the University as the Board of Trustees may enact. He makes an annual report to the Board of Trustees of the work and condition of the University in all its departments.
7. The University Chaplain, in co-operation with the President, the University Preacher, and other officers, studies and proposes methods of promoting the spiritual life of the University, and the harmony and efficiency of its religious and benevolent organizations; he also serves as needed in religious exercises and ministers as a pastor.
8. The University Recorder and Examiner serves as secretary of the various Ruling Bodies of the University and has charge of the record of courses taken by each student and the rank attained in them, of diplomas, certificates of work, and letters of dismissa); he also has charge of the admission of students to all schools and colleges of the University, under regulations established by the Faculties.
9. Deans.-The Divinity School, the Faculties of Arts, Literature, and Science, the Graduate School of Arts and Literature, the Ogden (Graduate) School of Science, the Law School, the School of Education, the Board of Medical Affairs, the Senior Colleges, the College of Commerce and Administration, the Junior Colleges, and University College, have at least one Dean. There is also a Dean of Women. Each Dean supervises in general the administration of his school or college, meeting personally the students and advising with them as to their courses of study.
10. Directors.—The University Libraries, the Laboratories, the Museums, the School of Education, the Observatory, the Press, and the Department of Physical Culture and Athletics are each under the general charge of a Director.
11. The Lecturers and Teachers of the University are classified as follows: the Professor, the Associate Professor, the Assistant Professor, the Instructor, the Associate, the Assistant, and the Fellow. The tenure of office of assistant professors is four years; of instructors, three years; of associates, two years; of assistants and fellows, one year. At the end of the said term the connection with the University of an assistant professor, instructor, associate, assistant, or fellow, ceases, unless he be reappointed. All officers of instruction and government are subject to removal for inadequate performance of duty or for misconduct.
12. Organization and Powers of the University Ruling Bodies.
This Statute shall be known as the University Government Statute, and it may be amended under that title. It is referred to herein as "this Statuto," and the references herein to articles and sections designate the divisions of this Statute.
All advisory, legislative, and administrative powers in the University concerning its collegiate, graduate, and professional work, except those vested in the President by the Board of Trustees, shall be exercised by, or under the authority of, the Ruling Bodies speci. fied in this Statute, according to their respective jurisdictions as herein defined.
THE UNIVERSITY RULING BODIES
The University Ruling Bodies shall consist of:
The Faculty of the Graduate School of Arts and Literature and of the Ogden (Graduate) School of Science.
The Faculty of the Divinity School.