Slike strani
PDF
ePub
[blocks in formation]

The University Medal, according to the provisions of its founders, is to be awarded to “the most distinguished graduate of the year," and is indivisible. At commencement in 1890, the Medal was awarded to Orrin Kip Mc MURRAY, of Lorin.

HARVARD CLUB PRIZE.

The Harvard Club Prize for the pursuit of graduate study at Harvard University was awarded, for the year 1890–91, to WILLIAM EMERSON Ritter, B.S., 1888.

LICK ASTRONOMICAL DEPARTMENT.

(Lick Observatory.)

OFFICERS OF THE OBSERVATORY.

President of the University.
EDWARD S. HOLDEN, Director and Astronomer.
SHERBIRNE W. BURNHAM, Astronomer.
JOHN M. SCHAEBERLE, Astronomer.
JAMES E. KEELER, Astronomer.
EDWARD E. BARNARD, Astronomer.
ACGUSTUS J. BURNHAM, Temporary Secretary.

*

*

The Lick Observatory was founded by JAMES Lick, by his deed of trust dated September 21, 1875. This deed devotes the sum of $700,000 to “the purpose of purchasing land and constructing and putting up on such land a powerful telescope, superior to and more powerful than any telescope yet made,

and also a suitable observatory connected therewith.” The deed further provides that “if, after the construction of said telescope and observatory, there shall remain of said $700,000 * * any surplus,” the surplus shall be invested, and that “the income thereof shall be devoted to the maintenance of the said telescope and the observatory connected therewith, and shall be made useful in promoting science; and the said telescope and oliservatory are to be known as the Lick Astronomical Department of the University of California.” The gift of Mr. Lick was accepted by the Board of Regents December 7, 1875.

Mr. Lick had already, in August, 1875, selected Mount Hamilton, in Santa Clara County, as a site for the observatory. Land for the site (1,350 acres) was granted by Act of Congress, June 7, 1876. One hundred and forty-nine acres siditional were purchased by Mr. Lick; and a tract of about forty acres was avided by gift of R. F. Morrow, Esq., in 1886. The north half of section 16 of the township was granted to the University for the use of the observatory by the Legislature of California in 1888. This land (320 acres) is continuous with the grant from the United States. A road, twenty-six miles long, from San José to the summit of Mount Hamilton, 4,209 feet above the sea, was constructed by the county in 1876, at a cost of about $78,000.

The work of construction was begun by the Lick Trustees (R. S. Floyd, Esq., President) in 1880, and the observatory was delivered over to the Regents of the t'niversity, June 1, 1888. Mr. Lick died October 1, 1876; and on January 3, 1887, his body was removed to Mount Hamilton and sealed within the base of the pier of the great equatorial.

men.

The observatory consists of a MAIN BUILDING containing computing-rooms, a library, and the domes for the 36-inch equatorial and the 12-inch equatorial, and DETACHED Buildings, to shelter the meridian circle, the transit, the horizontal photo-heliograph and the portable equatorial. On the grounds are dwelling-houses for the astronomers and employés, and shops for the work

The observatory is fully provided with instruments, some of which are enumerated below:

36-INCH EQUATORIAL; objective by Alvan Clark & Sons, mounting by Warner & Swasey. This instrument has also a photographic-corrector of 33 inches, figured by Mr. Alvan G. Clark.

12-INCH EQUATORIAL; by Avan Clark & Sons.

6.9-INCH EQUATORIAL; objective by Alvan Clark & Sons, mounting by Warner & Swasey.

6-INCH MERIDIAN CIRCLE; objective by Alvan Clark & Sons, mounting by Repsold.

4-Inch TRANSIT; objective by Alvan Clark & Sons, mounting by Fauth & Co. 4-Inch COMET-SEEKER; by Alvan Clark & Sons. 5-INCH HORIZONTAL Puoto-HELIOGRAPH; by Alvan Clark & Sons.

There are, besides, many minor pieces of astronomical, physical, meteorological and photographic apparatus, including spectroscopes, photometers, galvanometers, seismometers, micrometers, clocks, chronographs, etc.

Regulations Regarding Students at the Observatory.

“The regular course of undergraduate instruction in astronomy in the University will be given in part in the Colleges of Science at Berkeley, and the remainder at the Lick Observatory. Students who are graduates of the University of California, or of a university or college of like standing, will also be received at the Lick Observatory, to pursue a higher course of instruction in astronomy, provided that after examination they show themselves competent. Such students may become candidates for the higher degrees of the University in the ordinary manner, or they may be received as special students merely. Quarters at Mt. Hamilton may be assigned to them during that portion of the year occupied in their work with the instruments, and in return for such quarters they will be required to execute such computations as are assigned to them." [Order of the Board of Regents, March 13, 1888.]

“So many graduate students as can be furnished accommodations at Mt. Hamilton without expense to the University not to exceed four for the present, may pursue astronomical studies with the Director at the Lick Observatory. Such graduate students must be either candidates for the higher degrees of the University, in the ordinary manner, or special students admitted with the consent of the President of the University, and the Director of the Observatory. Such candidates for higher degrees shall spend at least one year in their studies at Berkeley." [Order of the Board of Regents, January 8, 1889.]

Students, 1890.

NAME.

STATUS

William Wallace Campbell, B.S. (Michigan), 1886.
Walter Ephraim Downs, B.S., 1888
Armin Otto Leuschner, A.B. (Michigan), 1888.

Special. .Cand. Phil. Cand. Phil.

1

Admission of Visitors to the Observatory.

The Observatory buildings will be open to visitors during office hours, every day in the year.

For the present, visitors will be permitted to look through the great telescope, every Saturday night, between the hours of 7 and 10, and at that time only.

Whenever the work of the observatory will admit of it, other telescopes will also be put at the disposition of visitors on Saturdays, between the same hours.

« PrejšnjaNaprej »