Slike strani


Assistant in Materia Medica,

JOSEPHINE EUGENIE BARBAT, Ph.G., Assistant in Botany,

Assistant in Pharmacy,

34 First Street, San Francisco.

FRANKLIN THEODORE GREEN, Ph.G., Assistant in Chemistry,

500 Devisadero Street, San Francisco.

WARREN CRANSTON GREGORY, A.B., Instructor in Latin,

101 Sansome Street, San Francisco.


The University of California is an integral part of the public educational system of the State. As such it completes the work begun in the public schools. Through aid from the State and the United States, and by private gifts, it furnishes ample facilities for instruction in literature and in science, and in the professions of law, medicine, dentistry and pharmacy. In the Colleges of Letters, Agriculture, Mining, Mechanics, Civil Engineering, and Chemistry, in the Literary Course, and in the Course in Letters and Political Science, these privileges are offered without charge for tuition, to all persons qualified for admission. In the Professional Colleges in San Francisco, except that of Law, moderate tuition fees are charged. The instruction in all the Colleges is open to all qualified persons, without distinction of sex. The Constitution of the State provides for the perpetuation of the University, with all its departments.

[blocks in formation]

(c) Course in Letters and Political 5. The College of Civil Engineering. Science. 6. The College of Chemistry.

II. At Mt. Hamilton (Santa Clara County).

The Lick Astronomical Department (Lick Observatory).

III. In San Francisco.

1. The Hastings College of the Law. 2. The Medical Department.

3. The College of Dentistry.

4. The California College of Pharmacy.

The distinctive characteristics of the various Colleges are given in detail on subsequent pages of this REGISTER.


The University was instituted by a law which received the approval of the Governor March 23, 1868. Instruction was begun in Oakland in the autumn of 1869. The commencement exercises of 1873 were held at Berkeley, July 16, when the University was formally transferred to its permanent home. Instruction began at Berkeley in the autumn of 1873.

The College of California, which had been organized several years before the University, transferred its property and students upon terms which were mutually agreed upon, and closed its work of instruction in 1869. It had been incorporated in 1855, and through its agency a part of the Oakland property of the University, and the Berkeley site now owned and occupied by the latter, were secured.

The site at Berkeley is a domain of about two hundred and fifty acres, situated on the slope of the Contra Costa hills, about five miles from Oakland, facing the Golden Gate. It is traversed by two water-courses, is much diversified in aspect, and is adapted to a great variety of culture. A portion of it is reserved to illustrate the work in agriculture and horticulture, and is now under cultivation.

The Undergraduate Colleges were the only ones actually included in the original organization, although the Organic Act contemplated the establishment of Colleges of Law and Medicine. The Professional Colleges in San Francisco have been added from time to time. The Lick Observatory was formally transferred to the University in June, 1888.


The University of California is a State institution, established by the Legislature in accordance with the Constitution, and intrusted to a corporation styled THE REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, which includes the Governor, the Lieutenant-Governor, the Speaker of the Assembly, the State Superintendent of Public Instruction, the President of the State Agricultural Society, the President of the Mechanics' Institute of San Francisco, and the President of the University, as members ex officio, and sixteen other Regents appointed by the Governor and approved by the Senate. To this corporation the State has committed the administration of the University, including management of the finances, care of property, appointment of teachers, and determination of the interior organization in all particulars not already fixed by law. The instruction and government of the students are intrusted to the FACUL TIES OF THE SEVERAL COLLEGES, and to the ACADEMIC SENATE. The Senate consists of the Faculties and instructors of the University. It holds regular meetings twice a year, and is created for the purpose of conducting the general administration of the University, memorializing the Board of Regents, regulating in the first instance the general and special courses of instruction, and receiving and determining all appeals from acts of discipline enforced by the Faculty of any College; and it exercises such other powers as the Board of Regents may confer upon it.

The Senate has created the following Standing Committees:

1. The Academic Council, composed of the President and the professors and instructors in the College of Letters and the Colleges of Science, the President and professors alone having the right to vote in its transactions. Of this committee the President of the University is ex officio chairman, and the Recorder secretary.

It regulates provisionally, or (where the functions to be exercised are executive) supervises, such matters as are not reserved by law to the separate Faculties at Berkeley, but in which they are all concerned.

2. The Professional Council, composed of the President of the University and two members of each of the Faculties of Law, Medicine Dentistry, and Pharmacy, elected annually by these Faculties, respectively. Of this committee the President of the University is ex officio chairman; the secretary is elected by the committee from its own number.

It regulates provisionally, or (where the functions to be exercised are executive) supervises, those matters in which the above-named Colleges are all concerned; it also considers the wants of any or all of these Colleges, and makes recommendations concerning the same to the Academic Senate.

3. The Editorial Committee, consisting of the President of the University, as Chairman ex officio, and two professors in the College of Letters, elected annually by the Academic Council. This committee has editorial charge of the REGISTER, and of such other publications, concerning courses of instruction and like matters, as are from time to time authorized by the Academic Council or by the Senate.

In all matters not expressly delegated to the Senate or to the several Faculties, the Board of Regents governs, either directly or through the President or Secretary.


The endowments on which the College of Letters and the Colleges of Science have been founded and maintained include the following:

1. The Seminary Fund and Public Building Fund, granted to the State by Congress.

2. The property received from the College of California, including the site at Berkeley.

3. The fund derived from the Congressional Land Grant of July 2, 1862. 4. The Tide Land Fund, appropriated by the State.

5. Various appropriations by the State Legislature for specified purposes.

6. The State University Fund, which is a perpetual endowment derived from

a State tax of one cent on each $100 of assessed valuation.

7. The Endowment Fund of the Lick Astronomical Department.

8. The United States Experiment Station Fund of $15,000 a year.

9. The gifts of individuals.

The Colleges of Medicine, Dentistry and Pharmacy are supported by fees from students. The College of Law has a separate endowment.



College of Letters, the Colleges of Science, and the Lick Astronomical Department.

« PrejšnjaNaprej »