Slike strani
PDF
ePub

MILITARY COMMISSIONS, 1891.

Battalion of University Cadets. *ARTHUR MCARTHUR SEYMOUR..

to be Colonel. *ALBERT HOWELL ELLIOT

to be Lieutenant-Colonel. *CHARLES HARVEY BENTLEY

...to be Major. WARREN OLNEY, JR...

to be Captain. John HENRY WHITE

to be Captain. Tom WELLS RANSOM

to be Captain. HENRY BRADFORD MONTAGUE

to be Captain. GEORGE HERBERT FLETCHER.

to be First Lieutenant. CHARLES WASHINGTON MERRILL

..to be First Lieutenant. GEORGE PRENTISS ROBINSON.

to be First Lieutenant. WILLIAM HARRISON WASTE.

to be First Lieutenant. Roscoe WHEELER, JR.

to be First Lieutenant. WILLIAM GRANT MORROW.

to be Second Lieutenant. Joux CHURCHILL AINSWORTH, JR.

.to be Second Lieutenant. HARRY BABBITT AINSWORTH

to be Second Lieutenant. HERBERT SAMPSON MCFARLIN,

to be Second Lieutenant. ARTHUR FULLER ALLEN.

to be Second Lieutenant. JAMES DENMAN MEEKER

to be Second Lieutenant. CHARLES PALACHE ..

to be Second Lieutenant.

FELLOWSHIPS AND SCHOLARSHIPS, 1891-2. GEORGE MALCOLM Stratton, A.B., 1888, A.M. (Yale), 1890.

University Fellow in Philosophy.

University Fellow in Philosophy. CHARLES PALACHE, B.S., 1891.

University Fellow in Mineralogy. JOSEPH Nisbet Le Conte, B.S., 1891.Le Conte Fellow (at Cornell University). SARAH MCLEAN HARDY, of the Junior Class..... Phebe Hearst Scholar. HARRIET HASKELL GODFREY, of the Freshman Class...Phebe Hearst Scholar. ARCHIE BURTON PIERCE, B.S., 1890.

....Scholar (at Harvard l'niversity) of the Harvard Club of San Francisco. EMMETT Addison ByLER, of the Senior Class.... Hinckley Scholar.

* In accordance with a regulation of the War Department, the names of the three graduates most distinguished in Military Science are placed on the U.S. Army Register and published in General Orders.

8

LICK ASTRONOMICAL DEPARTMENT.

(Lick Observatory.)

OFFICERS OF THE OBSERVATORY.

-, President of the University.
EDWARD S. HOLDEN, Director and Astronomer.
SHERBURNE W. BURNHAM, Astronomer.
JOHN M. SCHAEBERLE, Astronomer.
EDWARD E. BARNARD, Astronomer.
WILLIAM W. CAMPBELL, Astronomer.
HENRY CREW, Astronomer.
AUGUSTUS J. BURNHAM, Temporary Secretary.

*

*

*

*

*

*

The Observatory was founded by JAMES Lick, by his deed of trust dated September 21, 1875. This deed devotes the sum of $700,000 to “ the purpose of purchasing land and constructing and putting up on such land a powerful telescope, superior to and more powerful than any telescope yet made,

and also a suitable observatory connected therewith.” The deed further provides that “if, after the construction of said telescope and observatory, there shall remain of said $700,000

any surplus,” the surplus shall be invested, and that “the income thereof shall be devoted to the maintenance of the said telescope and the observatory connected therewith, and shall be made useful in promoting science; and the said telescope and observatory are to be known as the Lick Astronomical Department of the University of California.” The gift of Mr. Lick was accepted by the Board of Regents, December 7, 1875.

Mr. Lick had already, in August, 1875, selected Mount Hamilton, in Santa Clara County, as a site for the Observatory. Land for the site (1,350 acres) was granted by Act of Congress, June 7, 1876. One hundred and forty-nine acres additional were purchased by Mr. Lick; and a tract of about forty acres was added by gift of R. F. Morrow, Esq., in 1886. The north half of section 16 of the township was granted to the University for the use of the Observatory by the Legislature of California in 1888. This land (320 acres) is continuous with the grant from the United States. A road, twenty-six miles long, from San José to the summit of Mount Hamilton, 4,209 feet above the sea, was constructed by the county in 1876, at a cost of about $78,000.

The work of construction was begun by the Lick Trustees (R. S. Floyd, Esq., President) in 1880, and the Observatory was delivered over to the Regents of the University, June 1, 1888. Mr. Lick died October 1, 1876; and on January 9, 1887, his body was removed to Mount Hamilton and sealed within the base of the pier of the great equatorial.

The Observatory consists of a MAIN BUILDING containing computing-rooms, a library, and the domes for the 36-inch equatorial and the 12-inch equatorial; and DETACHED Buildings, to shelter the meridian circle, the transit, the horizontal photo-heliograph, the portable equatorial and the CROCKER photographic telescope. On the grounds are dwelling-houses for the astronomers and employés, and shops for the workmen. The Observatory is fully provided with instruments, some of which are enumerated below:

36-INCH EQUATORIAL; objective by Alvan Clark & Sons, mounting by Warner & Swasey. This instrument has also a photographic-corrector of 33 inches, figured by Mr. Alvan G. Clark.

12-INCH EQUATORIAL; by Alvan Clark & Sons.

6!-INCH EQUATORIAL; objective by Alvan Clark & Sons, mounting by Warner & Swasey.

6)-INCH MERIDIAN CIRCLE; objective by Alvan Clark & Sons, mounting by Repsold.

4-Inch TRANSIT; objective by Alyan Clark & Sons, niounting by Fauth & Co. 4-1XCI COMET-SEEKER; by Alvan Clark & Sons. 5-INCH HORIZONTAL PHOTO-HELIOGRAPH; by Alvan Clark & Sons. PHOTOGRAPHIC TELESCOPE; objective by Willard, mounting by J. A. Brashear.

There are, besides, many minor pieces of astronomical, physical, meteorological, and photographic apparatus, including spectroscopes, photometers, galvanometers, seismometers, micrometers, clocks, chronographs, etc.

Regulations Regarding Students at the Observatory. "The regular course of undergraduate instruction in astronomy in the University will be given in part in the Colleges of Science at Berkeley, and the remainder at the Lick Observatory. Students who are graduates of the University of California, or of a university or college of like standing, will also be received at the Lick Observatory, to pursue a higher course of instruction in astronomy, provided that after examination they show themselves competent. Such students may become candidates for the higher degrees of the University in the ordinary manner, or they may be received as special students merely. Quarters at Mt. Hamilton may be assigned to them during that portion of the year occupied in their work with the instruments, and in return for such quarters they will be required to execute such computations as are assigned to them." [Order of the Board of Regents, March 13, 1888.]

“So many graduate students as can be furnished accommodations at Mt. Hamilton without expense to the University, not to exceed four for the present, may pursue astronomical studies with the Director at the Lick Observatory. Such graduate students must be either candidates for the higher degrees of the University, in the ordinary manner, or special students admitted with the consent of the President of the University and the Director of the Observatory. Such candidates for higher degrees shall spend at least one year in their studies at Berkeley." [Order of the Board of Regents, January 8, 1889.]

Students, 1891.
NAME.
Walter Ephraim Downs, B.S., 1888.
Armin Otto Leuschner, A.B. (Michigan), 1888...
Joseph Marion Taylor, M.S. (Adrian College), 1886
Charles Watson Treat, Ph.B. (De Pauw), 1890...

STATUS.
Cand. Phil.
Cand. Phil.

Special.
Special.

Admission of Visitors to the Observatory. The Observatory buildings will be open to visitors during office hours, every day in the year.

For the present, visitors will be permitted to look through the great telescope, every Saturday night, between the hours of 7 and 10, and at that time only.

Whenever the work of the Observatory will admit of it, other telescopes will also be put at the disposition of visitors on Saturdays, between the same hours.

EXTENSION COURSES.

With a view to the extension of the advantages of the University to teachers* and other persons whose engagements will not permit them to go to Berkeley, courses of instruction will be offered during the year 1891–92 in San Francisco. It may be expected that other Courses will be added in subsequent years.

Persons who offer to do systematic work in the Extension Courses, and to take examinations in them, will be enrolled as Attendants upon Extension Courses. (See page 173.) Attendants who pass satisfactory examinations will be entitled to receive, from the University, Certificates of Record of the work done, which may be accredited to them, upon their scholarship records, if they subsequently become students of the University.

Visitors may be admitted to Extension Courses at the discretion of the professors in charge.

Persons desiring to enroll themselves for these Courses are requested to communicate either with the professors in charge, or with the Recorder.

During 1891–92, Extension Courses will be offered in San Francisco as follows:

PHILOSOPHY.

The Essential Problems of Philosophy and the Course of its History from Descartes through Kant. A Course of about twenty lectures. Once or twice a week, at times to be determined. Professor HIOWISON.

HISTORY AND POLITICAL SCIENCE. The Transition from the Renaissance to the Reformation. A Course of lectures once a week during the first term. First Unitarian Church, corner Franklin and Geary Streets, Monday evenings, at eight o'clock. Associate Professor Bacon.

с

Another Course on some suitable topic in history or political science may be given during the second term by some other member of the Department.

ENGLISH

A. Shakespeare's Tragedies: Julius Cæsar, Richard III., Hamlet, Othello, Macbeth, King Lear, and Coriolanus. (Analogous to Course XV., above-see page 47.) Fifteen lectures, accompanied by class essays and discussions, during the first term. Academy of Sciences, Friday afternoons, 3:45–5:45.

See also Pedagogics (page 72), and Courses designed for teachers, under Philosophy, History and Political Science, Greek, Latin, English, Mathematics.

« PrejšnjaNaprej »